Théa Foundation

Committee and Boards

Corporate Foundation Théa is managed by a Board of Directors, chaired by Serge Resnikoff (MD, PhD) and composed of five members including:

■ Two-thirds (three people): he college of representatives of the Founder and staff representatives,
■ At least one third (two people) : the college of persons qualified in the areas of intervention of the Corporate Foundation..

A Scientific Committee operates under the responsibility of the board of trustees.

It is responsible for reviewing and selecting all projects or actions that match the aims of the Corporate Foundation or that the Corporate Foundation may undertake or support. It meets at least twice a year.



Board of Directors

A word from the President

Serge Resnikoff, MD, PhD

International Agency for Prevention of Blindness (IAPB) Executive Comitee member, and International Council of Ophthalmology (ICO) Board of Trustees member and Program Director.

Humanitarian action must retain links with the past and build bridges to the future. It is evident that all pharmaceutical companies have the necessary expertise and know-how to fight disease, and many of them aspire to act beyond their usual missions. In the case of the Thea corporate Foundation, we are lucky to be able to anchor our action in 150 years of history. We have the chance to continue the work of men who, over the generations, have raised European ophthalmology to the highest world standards whilst developing, from the very start, a real ethic of involvement and responsibility.

We are also lucky to be able to benefit from Laboratoires Théa's European presence.

The Foundation's scientific committee will be headed by Philippe Kestelyn, Professor of ophthalmology and head of the ophthalmology department at the University of Gand (Belgium) and will be composed of the best European experts. The role of the committee will be to assist us in examining and selecting projects that correspond to the Foundation's goals and to propose initiatives, be they traditional or innovative. The committee members' internationally recognised expertise and their varied but complementary backgrounds will ensure that our deliberations are rich and pertinent. In this way, we will be sure to support projects that have been selected for their importance and impact in the fight against preventable blindness, especially through training ophthalmologists and other professions involved in eye care. 

Composition of the board

Henri Chibret

Jean-Frédéric Chibret

Philippe Kestelyn

Didier Renault

Serge Resnikoff



Scientific committee

President of the Scientific Committee : Philippe Kestelyn

Serguei Astakhov (Russie)
Emilio Campos  (Italie)
Robert Chappell  (Grande Bretagne)
Isabelle Cochereau (France)
Borja Corcostegui (Espagne)
Philippe Kestelyn (Belgique)
Moncef Khairallah (Tunisie)
Volker Klauß (Allemagne)
Wojciech Omulecki (Pologne)
Stefan Seregard (Suède)